Archibald Prize 2023 LIVE updates: Winner to be revealed – who gets your vote?

Save articles for later

Add articles to your saved list and come back to them any time.

Key posts

  • Get ready for the 100th Archibald Prize winner to be announced
  • 1 of 1

Watch the announcement live

Tune into our live stream here to watch today’s announcement as it happens. We’re expecting it to start around 11.30am.

A visual history of past prize winners

While we wait to see who will take out this year’s prizes, you can take a look back through the history of Archibald winners and their sitters, in this video by Tom Compagnoni.

The Sulman Prize standouts for 2023

The $40,000 Sulman Prize is awarded for the best genre painting, subject painting or mural project by an artist resident in Australia.

Established within the terms of Sir John Sulman’s bequest, the Sulman was first awarded in 1936. Finalists are displayed as part of the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes exhibition.

Jason PhuCredit: Steven Siewert

Jason Phu has been named as a finalist in three major prizes at once, joining an elite club that includes Brett Whiteley and John Olsen. Read our story about him by arts writer Kerrie O’Brien here.

Who will win the Wynne Prize 2023?

Australia’s oldest art prize, the $50,000 Wynne Prize is the one collectors watch, according to this story by arts writer Linda Morris.

This prize, first awarded in 1897 to mark the official opening of the Art Gallery (then the National Art Gallery not the Art Gallery of NSW) is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery or figuritive sculpture.

The Wynne Prize opened doors for artist Julianne Ross Allcorn.Credit: Steven Siewert

This year there were 726 entrants in that prize – and across all three prizes – including the Sulman and Archibald, there were the highest known number of Aboriginal finalists in exhibition history: 38.

Now, for the first time in its esteemed 125-year history, this year’s winner and finalists of the Wynne will tour regional NSW, bringing their landscapes and sculptural works to the regions of their inspiration.

Get ready for the 100th Archibald Prize winner to be announced

Good morning and welcome to our 2023 coverage of the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman prize winners at the Art Gallery of NSW.

Although it is 102 years since the Archibald Prize began in 1921, this is only the 100th time a winner will be declared – provided the 11 judges do choose one this year. In both 1964 and 1980 the judges said there was no worthy winner. You can study some fun facts about the prize’s history here.

This year there were 949 entries in the portrait prize, the second largest number since the lockdown year of 2020. From ordinary Australians, to politicians and sportstars, 57 finalists were chosen from a cast of nearly 1000 faces.

This year the Packing Room Prize, for the first time decided by three packers including two women, went to a first-time Archibald entrant, Andrea Huelen’s portrait of comic Cal Wilson.

Winner of the Archibald Packing Room Prize Andrea Huelin with her sitter Cal Wilson in the Art Gallery of NSW on Thursday.Credit: Janie Barrett

  • 1 of 1

Most Viewed in Culture

Source: Read Full Article