How to watch Concacaf Champions League Round of 16: Live stream, how to watch, teams, schedule

The Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 opens this week with eight Leg 1 games spread across three days, Tuesday through Thursday. Leg 2 takes place the following week.

Neither of last year's finalists – winner Tigres UANL of Mexico's Liga MX or runner-up Los Angeles FC of Major League Soccer – are involved in the competition this year.

Despite the Major League Soccer season not starting until April 16, there are five teams from the league involved in the competition. The defending MLS Cup champion Columbus Crew will be joined by fellow MLS teams the Philadelphia Union (2020 MLS Supporters' Shield winners), Portland Timbers (MLS is Back Tournament winners), Atlanta United (2019 U.S. Open Cup winners) and Toronto FC (2020 Canadian Championship finalists).

There are also four clubs from Mexico, two from Costa Rica and Honduras, and one apiece from the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Nicaragua in the Round of 16.

No MLS team has ever won the current incarnation of the Concacaf Champions League.

Darlington Nagbe and the Columbus Crew are among five teams aiming to become the first MLS club to win the Concacaf Champions League. (Photo: Trevor Ruszkowski, USA TODAY Sports)

What are the Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 matchups?

  • CD Marathon (Honduras) vs. Portland Timbers (USA)
  • LD Ajaluelense (Costa Rica) vs. Atlanta United FC (USA)
  • Arcahaie FC (Haiti) vs. Cruz Azul (Mexico)
  • Deportivo Saprissa (Costa Rica) vs. Philadelphia Union (USA)
  • Leon (Mexico) vs. Toronto FC (Canada)
  • CD Olimpia (Honduras) vs. Club America (Mexico)
  • Real Esteli FC (Nicaragua) vs. Columbus Crew SC (USA)
  • Club Atletico Pantoja (Dominican Republic) vs. CF Monterrey (Mexico)

The 16 clubs participating in #SCCL21! ?

April 6 can’t come soon enough ?

What is the Concacaf Champions League quarterfinal schedule?

English-language broadcasts available on Fox Sports 1 or Fox Sports 2. Streaming also available on Fox Sports and fuboTV. Spanish-language broadcasts available on TUDN.

Leg 1

Tuesday, April 6

  • Marathon vs. Portland Timbers, 6 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
  • Ajaluelense vs. Atlanta United, 8 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
  • Arcahaie vs. Cruz Azul, 10 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)

Wednesday, April 7

  • Saprissa vs. Philadelphia Union, 6 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
  • Leon vs. Toronto FC, 8 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
  • Olimpia vs. Club American, 10 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)

Thursday, April 8

  • Real Esteli vs. Columbus Crew, 8 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
  • Pantoja vs. CF Monterrey, 10 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)

Leg 2

Tuesday, April 13

  • Atlanta United vs. Alajuelense, 6 p.m. ET 
  • Portland Timbers vs. Marathon, 8 p.m. ET 
  • Cruz Azul vs. Arcahaie, 10 p.m. ET 

Wednesday, April 14

  • Toronto FC vs. Leon, 6 p.m. ET 
  • Philadelphia Union vs. Saprissa, 8 p.m. ET 
  • Club America vs. Olimpia, 8 p.m. ET 

Thursday, April 15

  • Columbus Crew vs. Real Esteli, 8 p.m. ET 
  • CF Monterrey vs. Pantoja, 10 p.m. ET

When do later Concacaf Champions League rounds take place?

  • Quarterfinals – Leg 1: April 27-28, Leg 2: May 4-6
  • Semifinals – Leg 1: Aug. 10-12, Leg 2: Aug. 24-26
  • Final – Oct. 26-28

Recent Concacaf Champions League winners

  • 2020: Tigres UANL (Mexico)
  • 2019: Monterrey (Mexico)
  • 2018: C.D. Guadalajara (Mexico)
  • 2017: Pachuca (Mexico)
  • 2016: Club América (Mexico)
  • 2015: Club América (Mexico)
  • 2014: Cruz Azul (Mexico)
  • 2013: Monterrey (Mexico)
  • 2012: Monterrey (Mexico)
  • 2011: Monterrey (Mexico)
  • 2010: Pachuca (Mexico)
  • 2009: Atlante (Mexico)

Source: Read Full Article